ON THE FAIRWAYS This week's pro golf events

PGA TOURBob Hope Chrysler ClassicPalm Desert, Calif.
Schedule: Today-SundayCourses: The Classic Club at Northstar (7,305 yards, par 72), Arnold Palmer Private Course at PGA West (6,930 yards, par 72), LaQuinta Country Club (7,060 yards, par 72) and Bermuda Dunes Country Club (6,927 yards, par 72)Purse: 5 million. Winner's share: 900,000.Television: Golf Channel (Today-Friday, 3-6 p.m., 9 p.m.-midnight; Saturday-Sunday, 4-7 p.m., 10 p.m.-1 a.m.)Last year: Chad Campbell won his third PGA Tour title, holding off Scott Verplank and Jesper Parnevik by three strokes.Notes: Phil Mickelson, the 2002 and 2004 winner, is making his first start since the Ryder Cup. He won in his season debut in 2004, beating Skip Kendall on the first hole of a playoff. ... The final round will be played at The Classic Club. ... David Duval shot a 59 on the Palmer course in the final round of his 1999 victory. ... Joe Durant set the PGA Tour's 90-hole record in 2001 with a 36-under 324 total. ... Arnold Palmer won the inaugural event in 1960 and added victories in 1962, '68, '71 and '73. ... Tiger Woods will make his season debut next week in the Buick Invitational in San Diego.
CHAMPIONS TOURMasterCard ChampionshipKaupulehu-Kona, Hawaii
Schedule: Friday-SundayCourse: Hualalai Resort Golf Club (7,053 yards, par 72)Purse: 1.7 million. Winner's share: 290,000.Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 6:30-9 p.m.; Saturday, 12:30-3 a.m., 7:30-10 p.m.; Sunday, 1:30-4 a.m., 7:30-10 p.m.; Monday, 1:30-4 a.m.)Last year: Loren Roberts made a 30-foot birdie putt on the final hole for a course-record 11-under 61 and a one-stroke victory over Don Pooley. Roberts had a 25-under 191 total to break the tour record for relation to par in a 54-hole event and tie the stroke mark. He also broke the record for birdies in a three-round tournament with 26. Roberts won the Turtle Bay Championship the following week.Notes: The season-opening event features major champions from the last five years and other tournament winners in the last two years, plus sponsor invitees Player, Ben Crenshaw, Raymond Floyd and Lanny Wadkins. ... Dana Quigley won the 2003 and 2005 tournaments. ... The Turtle Bay Championship is next week at Kahuku.
Schedule: Friday-SundayCourse: Gary Player Country Club (6,466 yards, par 72)Purse: 1.2 million. Winners' shares: 120,000 per player.Television: Golf Channel (Friday, 12:30-3 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 4-5:30 a.m., 1-4 p.m.; Monday, 4-5:30 a.m.)Format: Two-player teams representing 22 countries. Friday, stroke play; Saturday, alternate shot; Sunday, best ball.Teams (a-amateur): Australia, Nikki Garrett and Lindsey Wright; Brazil, Candy Hannemann and Angela Park; Denmark, Karen-Margrethe Juul and Iben Tinning; England, Laura Davies and Trish Johnson; Finland, Riikka Hakkarainen and Jenni Kuosa; France, Gwladys Nocera and Stephanie Arricau; Germany, Anja Monke and Miriam Nagl; Ireland, Rebecca Coakley and Hazel Kavanagh; Italy, Veronica Zorzi and Giulia Sergas; Japan, Momoko Ueda and Shinobu Moromizato; Kenya, Rose Naliaka and a-Jane Njoroge; South Korea, Young Kim and Ji Yai Shin; New Zealand, Lynnette Brooky and Elizabeth McKinnon; Norway, Suzann Pettersen and Marianne Skarpnord; Paraguay, Julieta Granada and Celeste Troche; Philippines, Dorothy Delasin and Jennifer Rosales; South Africa, Laurette Maritz and a-Ashleigh Simon; Spain, Ana B. Sanchez and Tania Elosegui; Sweden, Helen Alfredsson and Carin Koch; Taiwan, Amy Hung and Yu Ping Lin; United States, Juli Inkster and Pat Hurst; Wales, Becky Brewerton and Becky Morgan.Last year: Sweden's Annika Sorenstam and Liselotte Neumann teamed to win in Sun City, beating Scotland's Catriona Matthew and Janice Moodie by three strokes.Notes: Sorenstam and Neumann are skipping their title defense. ... Japan's Ai Miyazato and Rui Kitada won in 2005 at Fancourt in George, South Africa. ... The LPGA Tour will open its season Feb. 15-17 with the SBS Open at Turtle Bay in Kahuku, Hawaii.
PGA EUROPEAN TOURAbu Dhabi Golf ChampionshipAbu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Schedule: Thursday-SundayCourse: Abu Dhabi Golf Club, National Course (7,348 yards, par 72)Purse: 2 million. Winner's share: 333,652.Television: Golf Channel (Thursday-Sunday, 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.)Last year: American Chris DiMarco closed with a 5-under 67 for a one-stroke victory over Sweden's Henrik Stenson.Notes: DiMarco tops the field along with Ryder Cup rivals Stenson, Paul Casey, Padraig Harrington, Sergio Garcia, Robert Karlsson and Colin Montgomerie. ... Notah Begay III is making his first appearance in a regular European tour event since 2000. ... The Qatar Masters is next week, followed by the Dubai Desert Classic.
Associated Press
Copyright 2007 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More like this from vindy.com

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.

AP News