Trustees vote to place two levies on May ballot

Trustees earlier gave pay raises to township employees.
NEW SPRINGFIELD -- Springfield Township trustees have voted to place two tax levies on the May primary election ballot.
One will be a five-year, 2-mill renewal for township expenses and the other a five-year, 2-mill renewal for the fire and Emergency Medical Services departments. Each would bring in approximately 100,000, and since they are renewals would not raise taxes, officials said.
In other business at their meeting Wednesday, trustees hired Gus Lolakis of Canfield as a part-time police patrolman. Lolakis has been a reserve police officer for the township since November and has excelled at the job, according to Police Chief Matthew Mohn. Lolakis is also on the Beaver Township Police Department.
Trustees also accepted, with thanks, the resignation of Police Sgt. Sam Leicht, who has been on the force for 28 years. Leicht is retiring.
Fire Chief Brian Hughes announced fire and EMS personnel will be going door-to-door in the township to pass out magnets advising residents they are in Springfield Township and should call 911 for the fire department and ambulance. Hughes said many people who have North Lima or Poland mailing addresses are actually in Springfield Township.
Mohn announced that the number of police calls to the township department rose from 3,900 in 2006 to approximately 5,000 in 2007. He also reported his department has been awarded a 3,008 state grant for drug education, as well as a 988 grant from the Bureau of Justice Assistance for three bulletproof vests.
EMS Captain Karen Philibin thanked the public for making the Community Christmas Party at the CallaMar Manor a "huge success." She said the fund started at Farmers National Bank will remain open for donations for next year's party. For more information, call Philibin at (330) 719-6970.
Pay raises
At an earlier meeting, trustees gave pay raises to employees.
Police Chief Matthew Mohn will make 54,122, an 8 percent increase from his 2006 wage of 50,003.
Fire Chief Brian Hughes will get 41,130, a 6 percent increase over his 2006 rate of 38,302.
EMS Coordinator Karen Philibin's monthly stipend will rise to 700 from 500 per month.
Other new pay rates with 2006 rates in parentheses:
Juvenile diversion specialist, 10.97 hourly ( 10.65).
Police secretary, 9.30 hourly ( 9)
Police patrolman, 3 percent increase and step increase according to three-year Ohio Patrolmen's Benevolent Association contract approved in April 2006. These are calculated on a base rate of 13 hourly for a new full-timer, 13.95 after one year and 17.44 after two years.
Secretary, 9.75 hourly ( 9).
Road truck driver, 12 hourly ( 11.15).
Substitute secretary, 7.50 hourly ( 7.50).
Recycling coordinator, 9 hourly and two hours paid for monthly meeting ( 8.71).
Per-call rates for ambulance personnel are: first responder, 14.70 ( 14); basic, 16.80 ( 16); intermediate, 18.90 ( 18); and paramedic, 21 ( 20).
Road Superintendent Richard Kennedy and Assistant Road Superintendent Eric Mace will remain at their same rate until a new contract is approved between trustees and their Teamsters' bargaining unit. Contract talks are currently in a fact-finding phase.
Also during the reorganization, trustees approved a 50 monthly cell phone stipend for the road superintendent, assistant road superintendent, police chief, detective sergeant, fire chief, EMS coordinator and juvenile diversion specialist.
James Holleran was elected chairman and Trustee Gerald Guterba vice-chairman for 2007. The third trustee is Robert Orr.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.