ON THE TRACKS This weekend's events

Sony HD 500
Fontana, Calif.
Schedule: Today, qualifying (Speed Channel, 6:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (NBC, 7 p.m.).
Track: California Speedway (D-shaped oval, 2 miles, 14 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 500 miles, 250 laps.
Last race: Matt Kenseth continued his momentum-building run toward the Chase by winning at Bristol Motor Speedway -- his third consecutive NASCAR victory. His fourth win of the season clinched him a spot in NASCAR's 10-race playoff format, which begins Sept. 17 in New Hampshire. Kenseth won the previous Cup event in Michigan, then the Busch Series race at Bristol.
Last year: Kyle Busch, 20, became the youngest winner in Cup history by taking the Sony HD 500. The previous youngest winner was Donald Thomas, who was four days older than Busch when he won in Atlanta in November 1952.
Next race: Chevy Rock & amp; Roll 400, Sept. 9, Richmond, Va.
Ameriquest 300
Fontana, Calif.
Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (Speed Channel, 6:30 p.m.), race (TNT, 10 p.m.).
Track: California Speedway (D-shaped oval, 2 miles, 14 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 300 miles, 150 laps.
Last race: Matt Kenseth passed Kevin Harvick with 15 laps remaining and hung on to win at Bristol Motor Speedway. Kenseth was flagged for speeding on pit road earlier in the race, forcing him to drop to the back of the field and work his way toward the front over the 250 laps. It was Kenseth's first Busch win since May 2005 at Darlington Raceway.
Last year: Carl Edwards took control late in the Ameriquest 300 and drove away to an easy victory. Edwards fell to eighth when he made his final pit stop during a caution period on lap 113 of the 150-lap event before charging to the front after the green flag.
Next race: Emerson Radio 250, Sept. 8, Richmond, Va.
Mac Tools U.S. Nationals
Clermont, Ind.
Schedule: Today, qualifying, 6:15 p.m.; Saturday, qualifying, 1 p.m. (ESPN2, 11 p.m., tape); Sunday, qualifying, (ESPN2, Noon, tape); Monday, eliminations, 11 a.m. (ESPN2, 4 p.m., tape).
Track: Indianapolis Raceway Park.
Last event: John Force finally took over the Funny Car points lead by winning the rain-delayed O'Reilly Mid-South Nationals at Memphis Motorsports Park on Aug. 20. Sharing the winner's circle with Force was Top Fuel leader Doug Kalitta, Kurt Johnson in Pro Stock, and two-time defending Pro Stock Motorcycle champion Andrew Hines, who regained the points lead.
Last year: Del Worsham became the sixth driver in Mac Tools U.S. Nationals history to sweep the Funny Car eliminations and Skoal Showdown bonus race, beating Frank Pedregon in the final. Larry Dixon (Top Fuel), Greg Anderson (Pro Stock) and Steve Johnson (Pro Stock Bike) also won.
Next event: NHRA Nationals, Sept. 17, Reading, Pa.
Associated Press
Copyright 2006 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.