STATE TOURNAMENT ROUNDUP No holding this Mayo: NCH tops VASJ for title

Dayton Dunbar and South Webster also won boys championships.
COLUMBUS (AP) -- O.J. Mayo answered the bell on Saturday.
Two days after he was prevented from playing in the semifinals for missing his "third-bell class," Mayo scored 34 points to power top-ranked Cincinnati North College Hill to a contentious 90-73 victory over Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph for the Trojans' second Division III state title in a row.
The game will be remembered for the two-time Mr. Basketball's glittering return -- he and teammate Bill Walker dominated throughout -- and also for three controversial technicals called against VASJ in the third quarter.
Mayo hit 10-of-15 shots from the field including half of his six 3-point attempts. He made 11-of-15 free throws and had eight rebounds and seven assists.
Walker added 22 points, 10 rebounds and six assists. Andre Evans came off the bench and under the opposition defensive radar to score 24 points for the Trojans (26-1), Associated Press poll champions the last three years and considered one of the top handful of teams in the nation.
Ohio State signee David Lighty and Darryl Rushton each had 20 points for VASJ (21-6). Lighty also had eight rebounds, three assists and three steals.
Dayton Dunbar 73, Wooster Triway 46
The climb back to the top took 19 years for Dayton Dunbar.
Led by the big three up front of Ohio State-bound Daequan Cook and 6-foot-8 bookends Aaron Pogue and Mark Anderson, the Wolverines pulled away to beat Wooster Triway in the Div. II state championship game.
Cook finished with 23 points, three rebounds, five steals and an assist. Pogue had 10 points and 12 rebounds and Anderson added 14 points and eight rebounds.
The Wolverines (26-2) were pretty good on the perimeter, too. Norris Cole II had 18 points and five assists and Darran Powell directed the attack with nine assists.
The title was Dunbar's first since the team led by Mark Baker (Ohio State), Mike Haley Jr. (Wright State) and Kirk Taylor (Michigan) won the 1987 championship at the University of Dayton Arena.
The Wolverines, making their fifth appearance at the state tournament, were ranked No. 3 in the final regular-season Associated Press poll. They lost in last year's semifinals.
It was another heartbreaking close call for the Titans, who have made four trips since 1988 but have never captured a championship. They lost in last year's championship to Upper Sandusky, 94-86.
Jeff McCartney scored 12 points and first-team All-Ohioan Linc Rottman added 11 for the Titans (26-1), ranked fourth in the last poll.
S. Webster 83, Columbus Grove 65
The long wait was well worth it for the Jeeps.
One day short of two years from their most painful defeat, South Webster celebrated its greatest victory by beating Columbus Grove to capture the Div. IV state championship.
Led by Nick Aldridge and Brigham Waginger, the Jeeps more than made up for a semifinal loss in the 2004 state tournament.
The 31-28 loss to eventual champion Holgate on March 26, 2004, lingered with the Jeeps -- making the school's first state title that much sweeter.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.