17TH CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT Write-in candidate plans to oppose Ryan

The Republican needs at least 50 votes in May to get on the November ballot.
WARREN -- U.S. Rep. Tim Ryan of Niles, D-17th, was the only incumbent congressman in Ohio without a general election opponent.
But that, in all likelihood, will change.
Don Manning of Cortland filed by Monday's deadline as a Republican write-in candidate for the 17th Congressional District seat. The Trumbull County Board of Elections must certify Manning's candidacy.
Manning needs at least 50 write-in votes in the May 2 Republican primary to move onto the November general election to face Ryan, according to the Ohio Secretary of State's Office. The district includes portions of Mahoning, Trumbull, Portage and Summit counties.
Write-in candidates need only to fill out a simple form and sign it. When voters go to the polls, there will be a space for races with write-in candidates. Elections boards count write-in votes only for those who fill out write-in forms for a particular position.
Besides a few precinct committee candidates, Manning is the only Republican running as a write-in candidate in Mahoning, Trumbull and Columbiana counties.
Manning ran unopposed in 2002 as a write-in candidate in the Republican primary for Trumbull County commissioner. He lost the general election race to incumbent Commissioner James Tsagaris, a Democrat who isn't seeking re-election to the post this year.
Manning also lost the 2000 Trumbull County clerk of courts race to then-incumbent Margaret O'Brien, a Democrat.
Sen. Wilson
On the Democratic side in the three counties, the only candidate running for a seat -- other than precinct committee positions -- is state Sen. Charlie Wilson of St. Clairsville, D-30th.
Wilson is running in the 12-county 6th Congressional District race. The district includes all of Columbiana and a portion of Mahoning County.
Wilson was considered the leading Democratic candidate in the race. But he was disqualified last month for failing to get the required 50 valid signatures from registered voters on his nominating petitions.
Two Democrats -- Bob Carr of Wellsville and John S. Luchansky of Boardman -- will have their names appear on the ballot.
Also, May 1, the day before the partisan primary, is the deadline to file as independent candidates for the November election.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.