NEOUCOM honors 5 Mahoning Valley doctors

ROOTSTOWN -- Five Youngstown-area physicians have been honored for their commitments to medical education at Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine.
They are: Dr. Angela Leung-Roberts, clinical assistant professor of family medicine, St. Elizabeth Health Center; Dr. Omer S. Shaikh, assistant professor of clinical pediatrics; Dr. Bee Min Lim, assistant professor of surgery, Forum Health; Dr. Steven M. Swain, assistant professor of family medicine, Forum Health; and Dr. Vincent W. Vanek, professor of surgery, St. Elizabeth Health Center. All five volunteer their time to train NEUOCOM students and residents, the school said.
They are among more than 1,800 physicians from Northeast Ohio who serve as volunteer clinical faculty, said Dr. Jay C. Williamson, associate dean for clinical sciences at NEOUCOM.
"NEOUCOM is fortunate to have such a talented array of individuals from so many different specialties who so willingly mentor and train our students in a vital area of practice -- clinical skills. We are very grateful to them for their dedication to medical education and to NEOUCOM," said Dr. Lois Margaret Nora, NEOUCOM president and dean of the College of Medicine.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.