Susan Sokolov is named Guardian of the Menorah

The recipient of the award will be recognized for her service and commitment.
BOARDMAN -- Susan Sokolov will be honored by B'nai B'rith Mahoning Lodge 339 as the 2005 Guardian of the Menorah at a Tribute Banquet at 6:30 p.m. June 5 at The Holiday Inn, 7410 South Ave.
For reservations, contact Bruce Sherman at (330) 783-1442.
The award
The Guardian of the Menorah is presented to an outstanding member of the community who has demonstrated through service and commitment devotion to the cause of youth and Jewish and general community.
Solkov serves as an officer of the board of directors of the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation, a member of the Jewish Federation Strategic Planning Committee, co-chairwoman of the Infrastructure Subcommittee, and an active member of the board of directors of Heritage Manor, a nonprofit arm of the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation operating Levy Gardens, a nursing home and assisted living facility.
She is past president of the Jewish Community Center and was co-chairwoman of the Community Gift Wrap Committee for many years. In recognition of her efforts on behalf of the Jewish community she was a recipient of the Abe Harshman Young Leadership Award.
She is a member of Ohev Tzedek Congregation and served on its board of directors as secretary and is a past president of Ohev Tzedek Sisterhood. She has served on the Jewish Community Relations Council and the Commission for Jewish Education, and was president of Akiva Academy and the Youngstown Community Jewish Dar School. She is a former board member of the Youngstown Hearing and Speech Board. She is a member of Hadassah, Jewish Women International, Penn State Alumni Association and Penn State Mount Nittany Society.
Past honorees
Living past recipients of the Guardian of the Menorah are Aaron Grossman, former state Sen. Harry Meshel, Atty. James L. Pazol, Samuel A. Roth, Marvin Peskin, Bert Tamarkin, Florence Harshman, Dr. William H. Lippy, Terry Roth, Sam D. Roth, Paul Schwebel, Bruce Sherman, Gerald Peskin, Louis R. Epstein, William Vegh, Irving Lev, Dr. Saul Friedman, Sam Kooperman and Myra Benedict.

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.