New officers and series announced

CANFIELD -- Dr. Randy Tharp was installed at president of the Monday Musical Club during a meeting held June 13 at the home of Jeanne Simeone, Kings Lane.
Other officers installed were Gloria Mosure, first vice president and concert course chairperson; Simeone, second vice president and marketing chairwoman; Tammy Merando, recording secretary; Barbara Tinkham, treasurer; Barbara Fiffick, corresponding secretary; and Kathleen Rickert, assistant treasurer. Jane J. Evans is immediate past president.
Additional members of the board are Barbara Armstrong, Dr. Bart DePascale, Dorothy Evers, Richard Esposito, Joan Gallitto, Mary Jane Karam, Sallie McKelvey, Gladys Melnick, Jeannie Peskin, Helen Prokop, Bob Suchanek, Mary Ann Young and Valerie Zurawick.
Upcoming attractions
The club began in 1896 to bring quality entertainment to the Youngstown area. For the 2005-06 season, the concert series will include Frankie Avalon, Sept. 29; "In the Mood," a 1940s musical review, Nov. 4; and "Holiday Dazzle," a holiday musical extravaganza, Dec. 11, "And the Winner Is," Oscar Music with Mac Frampton, April 8, 2006, and music from the Coasters, Drifters and Platters, May 8. Series tickets and individual concert tickets are available at the Monday Musical Office, (330) 743-2717.
The club provides scholarships each year to talented students pursuing careers in music at Dana School of Music at Youngstown State University and is a sponsor of the Stambaugh Honors Band. Grover Yaus funds are distributed to the Youngstown City Schools for support for band and orchestra students, in keeping with the wishes of Yaus, a well-known band master at The Rayen School for many years.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.