'The Historian'
A tome from the Middle Ages and a pack of enigmatic letters dating to the 1930s launch an American teenager on a hunt through European monasteries for history's infamous vampire. It's 1972 when the diplomat's daughter uncovers the missives that refer to an "unfortunate successor" and a book with an allusion to "Drakulya." The legend of Vlad the Impaler wore heavily on the girl's aging father and his late mentor, an Oxford historian, but fearlessly reviving the quest is her birthright. What will she learn about the past? Will she find the heinous fiend in the 20th century? Is evil destined to reign in the future?
Oprah's Book Club Summer 2005
A three-novel set by William Faulkner will be available in August.
The 2005 Summer Selection is available in an exclusive three-volume boxed edition that includes a special reader's guide with an introduction by Oprah Winfrey.
'As I Lay Dying'
This novel is the harrowing account of the Bundren family''s odyssey across the Mississippi countryside to bury Addie, their wife and mother. Told in turns by each of the family members -- including Addie herself -- the novel ranges in mood from dark comedy to the deepest pathos. Originally published in 1930.
'The Sound and the Fury'
First published in 1929, Faulkner created his "heart's darling," the beautiful and tragic Caddy Compson, whose story Faulkner told through separate monologues by her three brothers -- the idiot Benjy, the neurotic suicidal Quentin and the monstrous Jason.
'Light in August'
"Light in August," a novel about hopeful perseverance in the face of mortality, features some of Faulkner's most memorable characters: guileless, dauntless Lena Grove, in search of the father of her unborn child; the Rev. Gail Hightower, who is plagued by visions of Confederate horsemen; and Joe Christmas, a desperate, mysterious drifter consumed by his mixed ancestry. Originally published in 1932.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.