State highway patrol commissions troopers

COLUMBUS -- The Ohio State Highway Patrol commissioned 38 new troopers Friday during a ceremony at the training academy in Columbus.
Graduates who will serve at the Canfield post are Shawn Martin of Diamond; Jonathan A. Ganley, of Cuyahoga Falls; Thomas J. Gerber of Columbus; and Matthew A. Traywick of Canfield.
Kenneth L. Morckel, Ohio Department of Public Safety director, and Highway Patrol superintendent Col. Paul D. McLellan spoke to the graduates, as well as Ohio Supreme Court Justice Maureen O' Connor. They presented the graduates with commissions and training completion certificates.
The 143rd class completed classes in firearms, traffic and criminal laws, self-defense and crash investigation training.
The troopers' first 60 working days will consist of field training under the guidance of a veteran officer. The OSHP assigns new troopers to 19 of the patrol's 55 posts.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.