STATE BASEBALL ROUNDUP Archbold claims Div. III title, 7-1, behind Weldy

He pitched a two-hitter, had two RBIs and three hits over Frankfort Adena.
DAYTON -- Kirk Weldy pitched a two-hitter and went 3-for-3 with two RBI, leading Archbold to a 7-1 win over Frankfort Adena and its first baseball title in the Division III final on Saturday.
In the state semifinals, Adena defeated Champion of the Trumbull Athletic Conference.
The Blue Streaks (24-6) were making their first appearance at the state tournament, and Weldy and Casey Nofziger ensured they would go home to northwest Ohio's Fulton County as winners.
Weldy struck out eight and walked only one in his 105-pitch complete game. He also singled three times, including a two-run hit in a three-run fifth inning that made it 6-1.
Nofziger homered in the first for a 1-all tie and hit an RBI double in the third to give Archbold the lead.
Weldy allowed both of Adena's hits in the first. Dylan Givens singled, moved to third on two wild pitches and scored the game's first run on Joe Jaskowiak's RBI single.
The Warriors (25-7), without a title in two previous trips to the state tournament, managed only three baserunners over the final six innings on an error, a hit batter and a walk.
David Borcherdt tripled, singled twice, stole a base and scored two runs for Archbold.
Division I
Matt Klausing pitched a three-hitter and Cincinnati Elder defeated Toledo Start 3-0 to win the Div. I state baseball championship, the school's 12th.
Klausing (7-0) struck out three, walked one and didn't allow a runner to advance past second base. He gave up singles to Aaron Stewart and Jason Moulton, and a double by Wade Anderson.
The Panthers (28-1) scored on Chris Fishburn's sacrifice fly in the first inning and Charlie Leesman's two-run triple in the fifth. Leesman was in the lineup as the designated hitter, batting in place of Klausing.
Moulton (7-2) allowed three runs on four hits in six innings for the Spartans (25-4). He walked five and struck out four.
Division II
COLUMBUS -- J.P. Keefe homered to lead off the bottom of the seventh inning Saturday, giving Hebron Lakewood a 2-1 win over Hamilton Badin and the Div. II state baseball title.
Keefe's shot to left field off Badin's Jerry Young made the Lancers (32-2) state champions for the third time and prevented the Rams (24-7) from winning a third baseball crown.
Keefe drove in Lakewood's other run with a sacrifice fly, scoring Chris Hoffer for a 1-all tie in the fourth. Hoffer started the inning with a double and had two of the Lancers' five hits off Young.
The teams combined for only 11 hits and the one error, committed by Badin, did not factor into the scoring.
Badin, which previously won state titles in 1991 and 1996, took a 1-0 lead in the third on Drew Maus' RBI single.
Lakewood's Andrew Ford allowed six hits and a walk in seven innings, helping the Lancers win their first championship since back-to-back titles in 1993-94.
Division IV
Derek Hetrick hit the go-ahead RBI single with two outs in the top of the seventh inning and Gibsonburg completed an unlikely run to a state baseball championship by beating Lancaster Fisher Catholic 6-5 in the Div. IV final.
The Golden Bears started the playoffs with a 6-17 record and won eight consecutive games to capture their first state title. They won the championship game despite committing five errors that handed the Irish (26-8) five unearned runs.
Alex Black pitched three innings of one-hit relief for the win. Andy Gruner allowed four unearned runs over the first four innings.
Tyler Welch allowed Gibsonburg's unearned run in the seventh after not yielding a hit in his first 2 2-3 innings of relief. After striking out the first two batters of the seventh, Wes Milleson reached on an error by Fisher Catholic third baseman Greg Connell and stole second.
Welch then intentionally walked Thom Brinker before Hetrick singled home Milleson to give Gibsonburg a 6-5 lead.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.