MARQUEE AWARDS Youngstown Playhouse leads in nominations

YOUNGSTOWN -- The Youngstown Area Community Theatre Awards has announced nominations for the Second Annual Marquee Awards, co-sponsored by The Vindicator.
Leading the list is the Youngstown Playhouse, which garnered 46 nominations for its 80th anniversary season under the leadership of Bentley Lenhoff. In second place with 35 nominations was the New Castle Playhouse in New Castle, Pa. In third place is the Salem Community Theatre with 20 nominations.
Best Musical nominees are "The Rocky Horror Show" (Oakland), "Side By Side By Sondheim" (TNT), "Smokey Joe's Cafe" (Yo. Playhouse), "I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change" (Yo. Playhouse), and "Evita" (New Castle Playhouse).
Best Play nominations went to "Brighton Beach Memoirs" (Yo. Playhouse), "Charlotte's Web"(Salem Community Theatre), "The Price" (Oakland), "Breaking Legs" (Yo. Playhouse), and "Moon Over Buffalo" (Yo. Playhouse).
Best Actor for a Musical nods were given to James McClellan for "Our Time" (Center Stage Prod.), Alan McCreary as the Scarecrow in "The Wizard of Oz"(New Castle Playhouse), Anthony Ruggiero in "Side By Side By Sondheim"(Oakland), Tim Cassidy in "I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change" (Yo. Playhouse) and Matt DiBattiste in "The Rocky Horror Show"(Oakland).
Best Actress for a Musical nominees are Lesley Gent in "Evita"(New Castle Playhouse), Liz Rubino in "Our Time"(Center Stage Productions), Connie Cassidy in "The King & amp; I" (Move Over Broadway), Danielle Frabutt in "The Rocky Horror Show" (Oakland), and Liz Rubino in "Side By Side By Sondheim"(TNT).
Best Actor for a Play nominees are Tom DePaola for "Brighton Beach Memoirs" (Yo. Playhouse), Bill Finley in "Moon Over Buffalo" (Yo. Playhouse), John Cox in "Block 5"(J & amp; B Prod. Arts & amp; B'nai B'rith), Lance Angle in "The Devious Dentist" (Potter Players), and Joe Mineo in "The Price" (Oakland).
Best Actress in a Play nominees are Jo McGarvey in "Noises Off" (Weathervane), Kim Bush in "Noises Off" (Weathervane), Kandace Cleland in "Noises Off" Revival (Stage Left), Molly Galano in "Brighton Beach Memoirs" (Yo. Playhouse), and Paula Strobel in "The Tale of the Allergist's Wife" Revival (Oakland).
"The Wizard of Oz," produced by the New Castle Playhouse, led the nominations with 18; "Block 5" was second with 15 nominations. The complete list of nominations consists of 40 categories with five nominees in each category. The winners will be announced at the "2nd Annual Marquee Awards" on Saturday, Aug. 20 at the Saxon Club in Youngstown.
For information on the awards and to make reservations call Joyce Jones at 330-788-4389 or 330-518-6632. Ticket prices are $20 for individuals or a table of eight for $120. The evening begins with a cocktail hour at 6 with a cash bar, dinner at 7 and the awards show at 8. The deadline for reservations and payment is Aug. 13.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.