INTERNATIONAL AWARD Youngstown Torch Club receives recognition

The honor was received by the local club during a recent convention.
XDES MOINES, Iowa -- The Youngstown Torch Club was awarded the President's Recognition Award for the Outstanding Club in Region 5 by the International Association of Torch Clubs during its annual convention held June 23-26 at the Renaissance Savery Hotel.
The Outstanding Regional Club Award is conferred on a club whose membership is growing, whose members are published in Torch magazine, and whose members support and promote the principles of Torch in programs and related activities.
In the past three years, the Youngstown club, which has been recognized twice by the association, has had three papers by members published in the Torch and has increased its membership 20 percent.
Torch, a nonservice club, was chartered July 10, 1924, in Minneapolis for the purpose of encouraging the free exchange of ideas among members. Today the international association has 71 clubs in the United States and Canada with more than 2,400 members.
About the local club
The Youngstown club was established Jan. 5, 1928, with Dr. I.E. Philo as president. It has a diverse membership that includes representatives of the business community, educators, clergy, lawyers, physicians, authors, students and journalists.
Office holders for 2005-2006 are John K. Fockler Jr., president; Dr. Lowell J. Satre, first vice president; Janet Moy LaMonica, second vice president; Linda Porter, secretary; and David L. Dates, treasurer.
The Youngstown club meets at 5:30 p.m. the third Monday of each month from September through June at Kilcawley Center on the campus of Youngstown State University. For more information call the club secretary at (330) 792-7351.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.