Trustees elected at annual meeting

YOUNGSTOWN -- The 130th annual meeting of the Mahoning Valley Historical Society was held June 21, during which members elected new trustees, approved an operating budget and handed out the first set of awards for achievement in historic preservation.
Trustees elected to serve three-year terms are Germaine Bennett, Robert Calcagni, Suzanne Fleming, Tazim Jaffer, Phillip Kocon, Karen Kohli, Joan Madcj, John McNally IV, Reid Schmutz and Jeanne Tyler. Three additional trustees elected to serve unexpired terms were James H. Sisek, Donald S. Gubany and Dr. Jane Reid.
Members also approved an operating budget of $534,444 for the fiscal year July 1, 2005, to June 30, 2006.
The highlight of the evening was the presentation of awards in historic preservation to seven outstanding projects: Stambaugh Auditorium ceiling restoration, William A. Conti, project manager; Jane Wooley residence, Florencedale Avenue, North Side Citizens Coalition, project designer; city council chambers restoration, Ronald Cornell Faniro, Architects, AIA Inc., project designer; restoration of the downtown McCrory Building, Ricciuti Balog and Partners, project designer; restoration and rehabilitation of Powers Auditorium and Adler Art Academy, Ricciuti Balog and Partners, project designer; Forest Glen Estates Homeowners Association for achievement in designation of historic district; and Janie S. Jenkins for achievement in preservation of historic rural landscape of Southern Park Stables in Boardman Township.
The society educates and promotes an interest in the history of the Mahoning Valley by collecting, preserving and developing material representative of the people who have inhabited the region.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.