SHARON SPEEDWAY Two drivers from series shatter track lap record

Tim McCreadie was the first to win three races in a row in the World of Outlaws Late Model Series.
HARTFORD - The World of Outlaws Late Model Series stormed Sharon Speedway Tuesday night and left records shattered.
The night began with John Blankenship from Williamson, W.Va., breaking Sharon Speedway's track lap record with a 15.760 lap time for the 3/8-mile dirt track.
Blankenship's time was beat later in qualifying by Scott Bloomquist from Mooresburg, Tenn., with a 15.691 lap, which will stand as the new track record. The old record was set by World of Outlaws sprint car driver Dannny Lasoski in 2002.
Forty-four late model drivers showed up to qualify for the 20th race of the World of Outlaws Late Models Series.
Following Bloomquist, the next four fastest qualifiers were Tim McCreadie, Donnie Moran, Chub Frank and Dan Schlieper.
Heat winners for the late models were Rick Eckert, McCreadie, Donnie Moran and Steve Francis.
Mike Balzano won the first late model B-main and Brett Rhebergan won the second B-main.
Josh "Kid Rocket" Richards won the four-car, four-lap dash, giving him poll-position in the late model A-main feature. It was the first dash win for the 17-year-old Clymer, N.Y., native.
The World of Outlaws Late Model Series drivers stayed wide throughout the 50-lap A-main feature.
The popular and difficult outside groove held most of the late model traffic Tuesday night. Donnie Moran, who started on the front row on the outside, led the pack for the first 10 laps, but a flat left-rear tire forced him into the pits.
On lap 10, Shane Clanton slowed from third with a flat right-rear tire and Donnie Moran went to the pits for a flat left-rear tire, giving the lead to McCreadie.
The next 30 laps saw McCreadie and Bloomquist battle for first place, with Bloomquist leading only lap 47. McCreadie stayed high on the outside and Bloomquist stayed low on the inside. They came through the finish door-to-door with McCreadie claiming the win and $10,000.
A first
McCreadie is the first driver to win three races in a row in the three-year history of the World of Outlaws Late Model series.
The Coy Bros. Trucking E-Mods accompanied the World of Outlaw late models Tuesday night.
Winners of the E-Mod heats were Jeff Sharp, Chub Frank and Russell Dunn. Brian Douglas, from Painesville, Ohio, won the E-mod B-main race.
The E-mods had a 20-lap feature with 24 cars starting. Chub Frank's car had problems that forced him to leave the race on lap 12.
Matt Lux from Franklin, Pa., took first in the 20-lap E-mod feature, followed by Dave Hess and Max Blair.
The next time the late models will be at Sharon Speedway will be Sept. 3 for the Sharon Nationals.
Saturday will be Browns/Steelers Night at Sharon Speedway, sponsored by the First National Bank of Canfield. Former Browns and Steelers players will be available for autographs at the track. Proceeds from Browns/Steelers Night will benefit the Children's Rehabiliation Center in Howland.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.