YSU Retired professor repeats dean post

This is the second interim term as dean for the retired YSU professor.
YOUNGSTOWN -- Youngstown State University appointed a retired professor as interim dean of its College of Arts and Sciences.
Ikram Khawaja, former chairman of YSU's Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences, is expected to serve on an interim basis until the university finds a permanent dean.
Khawaja retired as a full-time professor at YSU in December 2002, but still taught some classes part time after that. He also taught part time at Fatima Jinnah Women University in Pakistan.
"Dr. Khawaja has extensive and varied experience at YSU," said Bege Bowers, YSU interim provost. "He is a fair and capable leader who knows the university well, and we are happy that he is returning to YSU during this interim period."
Former dean
Robert Bolla resigned from the job effective June 1, but left the university a few weeks before that using unused vacation time. Jane Kestner, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, served as acting dean between the time Bolla left and Friday, when YSU appointed Khawaja.
Bolla left to become dean of the graduate school and vice provost for research at Bradley University in Peoria, Ill.
A YSU search committee recommended three finalists in May to replace Bolla. But the search was called off because the university wanted to involve its incoming provost in the process.
On May 26, YSU selected Robert K. Herbert, a dean since 2001 at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, Texas, as its provost. Herbert's first day on the job is July 25.
This is Khawaja's second stint as interim dean of the college, holding that position from July 1, 2001, to June 30, 2002, prior to Bolla's appointment.
"I have a tremendous loyalty to YSU and am honored to return to this position," Khawaja said.
Khawaja joined YSU's faculty in 1968. During a 35-year career at the university, Khawaja served 17 years as chair of the Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences. He also was director of faculty relations from 1997 to 2000.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.