ON TOUR This week's pro golf events

PGA TOURBuick InvitationalSan Diego
Schedule: Thursday-SundayCourses: Torrey Pines, South Course (7,607 yards, par 72) and North Course (6,874 yards, par 72)Purse: $4.8 million. Winner's share: $810,000Television: USA (Thursday-Friday, 3-6 p.m.) and ABC (Saturday, 3-6 p.m.; Sunday, 3:30-6:30 p.m.)Last year: John Daly won his first PGA Tour title since the 1995 British Open, beating Luke Donald and Chris Riley on the first hole of a playoff. Daly hit a 100-foot bunker shot within 4 inches to set up his winning birdie.Last week: Top-ranked Vijay Singh won the Sony Open in Hawaii for his 25th PGA Tour victory and 10th in his past 26 starts. He birdied the final hole to beat two-time defending champion Ernie Els by a stroke. Michelle Wie missed the cut for the second consecutive year, shooting 74-75.
CHAMPIONS TOURMasterCard ChampionshipKaupulehu-Kona, Hawaii
Schedule: Friday-SundayCourse: Hualalai Resort Golf Club (7,053 yards, par 72)Purse: $1.6 million. Winner's share: $250,000Television: The Golf Channel (Friday, 7:30-10:30 p.m.; Saturday, midnight-2 a.m., 7:30-10:30 p.m., 11 p.m.-1:30 a.m.; Sunday, 7:30-10:30 p.m.; Monday, midnight-2:30 a.m.)Last year: Fuzzy Zoeller won the season-opening tournament, birdieing the final three holes for an 8-under 64 and a one-stroke victory over 2003 winner Dana Quigley.Last event: Mark McNulty won the season-ending Charles Schwab Cup in late October for his second consecutive win and third of 2004. Tom Kite finished second, a stroke back.
PGA EUROPEAN TOUR/SUNSHINE TOURSouth African OpenDurban, South Africa
Schedule: Thursday-SundayCourse: Durban Country Club (6,736 yards, par 72)Purse: $935,680. Winner's share: $147,840Television: The Golf Channel (Thursday-Sunday, 9 a.m.-noon)Last year: Trevor Immelman successfully defended his title on his home Erinvale course, winning by three strokes.Last event: South Africa's Charl Schwartzel won his first European tour title, beating England's Neil Cheetham on the first hole of a playoff in the Dunhill Championship on Dec. 12 in Malelane.
Associated Press

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.