No Curbstone meeting
The Curbstone Coaches will not hold their weekly noon luncheon Monday in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.
The Curbstone Coaches all-star banquet, honoring the top players from area conferences, is Sunday, Jan. 30.
Chaney banquet
YOUNGSTOWN -- On Jan. 9, 300 people were on hand to honor the Chaney High football team, the 2004 City Series champions. The banquet was sponsored by the Chaney Gridiron Club and was held at the ITAM Club on Meridian Road.
Remarks were made by Robert Spencer, Chaney principal, Carol Remidio Rhegetti, 4th Ward councilwoman, board members John Maluso and Shelly Murray, and alumni Brad Smith and Mike Zordich.
Plaques and shirts were issued to all team members and the following awards were presented:
Chris Merrell, Red Angelo Scholastic Award; Ron Palowitz, Pat Grossen Weightroom Award; Brian Willis, Jeff Nameth Unsung Hero Award; Robert Snipes and Andron Pippen, Gator Aid Will to Win Award; Lamar Sykes, Kevin Clark Scholarship; Mike Rosa, Denny Brace Scholarship; Anthony Zitello, freshman MVP; Terrelle Tomlin, sophomore MVP; Kory Jackson, junior MVP, and Dan Balog and Rick Hlinka, co-senior MVPs.
The Mike Wilson 12th Man Award was presented, posthumously, to Red Saunders and Pat Saunders.
Baseball hitting school
Hiram College will be holding a baseball hitting school every Saturday from Jan. 22 through Feb. 12.
There will be two sessions to choose from -- 1 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. or 3 p.m.-4:30 p.m. -- and all ages are welcome.
Cost for the school is $80 and includes all four days of instruction, a camp t-shirt and other prizes.
For more information, contact Howard Jenter at (330) 569-5348.
Rayen reunion scheduled
YOUNGSTOWN -- A reunion will take place Friday at Rayen School's Lindsey Fieldhouse, when the 1984-85 Rayen basketball team will be honored with a celebration of their Class AA state championship.
The evening will also feature a City Series doubleheader, with Woodrow Wilson providing the opposition. The varsity girls game will begin at 6 p.m.
Frank Cegledy, the coach of the 1984-85 team who is now a resident of South Carolina, and Phillip House, his assistant who is the present coach at Rayen, will be honored along with the players who compiled a 26-1 record.
Their only loss was in the second game of the season to Farrell.
Rayen came out of the Salem district and the Canton regional to win the state championship over Columbus Linden McKinley at St. John Arena.
The co-captains of that team were Mike Lyle and Floyd Showers, who were the starters along with Van Darling, Bill Bowers and Darin Taylor.
The rest of the team included Herman Hill, Hank Stubbs, Alan Reid, Kevin Madison, Jerome Jenkins, Shawn Byers, Wilson Humphrey, Alan Jones and Tony and Ken Donaldson.
The celebration will continue the following day with a dinner in the Rayen cafeteria at 3 p.m., which will include a viewing of the state championship game.
Tickets for that dinner are $20. For more information contact Showers (330-747-1218) or Hill (330-480-0460).
Youngstown Metro Umpire Association
Ohio High School Athletic Association certification classes for baseball and softball will begin Feb. 16.
For more information, contact John Mang at (330) 502-6665 or Bill Sferra at (330) 792-6787.
Basketball tournament
Pleasant Valley Church in Niles will host a 5th- and 6th-grade basketball tournament Feb. 18, 19 and 21.
The format of the tournament will be determined by the number of entries, and championship trophies and t-shirts will be presented to the winners.
Registration dealine is Feb. 14.
Contact Marci at (330) 539-6582 for more information.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.