ABWA Tri Gold Primetime Chapter receives membership award

The group also named its Woman of the Year and installed a new member.
AUSTINTOWN -- During a meeting Feb. 10 at the Saxon Club, the Tri Gold Primetime Chapter of American Business Women's Association received the Spirit Award from president Donna Farmer on behalf of the association's National Headquarters. The award, one of many an ABWA chapter can earn, recognizes success in membership growth and is specific to Primetime Chapters, which are those chartered to represent retired women, but may include working women.
The chapter presented its 2005-06 Woman of the Year Award to Jolyn Bush. Nominated by Fran Atwood, Bush is an 18-year member of ABWA, charter member of the Tri Gold Chapter and editor of the chapter's monthly bulletin. She is employed by the Youngstown City School District as an eighth-grade teacher at Hillman Middle School. She will be recognized along with other chapters' women of the year at the Mahoning Valley Network Council ABWA Fashion Preview in September and will serve as a chapter delegate.
Kara Thomas was received into membership during a candle- lighting ceremony.
Guest speaker for the evening was a representative of Anthem Insurance with information concerning supplemental health plans.
The next meeting will be held March 9 at Davidson's Restaurant, starting with a social at 5:30 p.m. and a buffet dinner at 6. Reservations are being taken by Maryann David at (330) 652-0589 and Kathy Poorman (330) 726-0649.
For membership information contact Barb Baer at (330) 755-4543 or Emma Draa (330) 965-9903.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.