Missouri's Smith among best QBs

He's on the Davey O'Brien National Award preseason watch list.
FORT WORTH, Tex. -- Brad Smith, the University of Missouri senior quarterback from Chaney High, is one of 33 candidates named to the pre-season watch list for the 2005 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.
The O'Brien Award is presented to the nation's best college quarterback. It is the oldest and most prestigious award in the country for college quarterbacks.
Davey O'Brien led Texas Christian University to the 1938 national championship. He also was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season.
Smith (6-foot-2, 210 pounds), who received his bachelor's degree in business administration in May and will be taking graduate level courses in 2005-06, has become one of the nation's top run-and-pass quarterbacks.
Eyes more school records
A team captain the past two seasons, Smith already is Missouri's all-time career leader in total offense (9,483 yards) and passing touchdowns (43), and is honing in on two other school career records entering his senior season.
Smith needs 464 passing yards to break Jeff Handy's career passing record of 6,959 yards from 1991-94, and he needs 211 rushing yards to break the career rushing record of 3,198 yards by Zack Abron from 2000-03.
He also enters the season with the distinction of being the NCAA active career leader in total offense. He ranks ahead of senior quarterback Steve Jyles of Louisiana-Monroe who has 7,563 yards.
Smith also has an opportunity to break or tie records or improve his rankings in 11 other statistical categories.
The timetable
Semifinalists for the O'Brien Award will be announced in early November by the O'Brien Selection Committee, a nationwide panel of sportswriters and commentators and former O'Brien Award winners.
The committee then will reduce the field to three finalists, and the winner will be announced on the Home Depot Football Awards Show Dec. 8 at 7 p.m., and honored on Feb. 20 at the 29th annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Forth Worth, Tex.
The O'Brien Award provides the winner's university with a $10,000 grant to its scholarship program.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.