Board organizes search committe for new music director

The Youngstown Symphony Orchestra embarks upon an extraordinary opportunity for artistic renewal with the appointment of a music director search committee.
Community representatives will join members of the Youngstown Symphony Society Board of Directors and orchestra musicians to recommend to the board the best person to become the orchestra's music director beginning with the 2006-07 season.
Members of the committee are Richard Keyse, chairman, and Dr. Dean Ball, Peter Sauer and Harry Syak, representing the board; orchestra appointees Donald W. Byo, Michael Crist, Elizabeth Jones and Tedrow Perkins; and community volunteers Dolores Crawford and Joseph Edwards. Committee liaison is Fran Greenberg.
Committee members met recently during a daylong workshop conducted by American Symphony Orchestra League consultant Donald Thulean. Thulean assisted the committee in developing a music director profile charting the qualities and attributes the Symphony Society desires in its artistic leadership and to generate committee search time lines and tasks for the search process.
The selection of the next music director is an enormous yet exciting undertaking because the new director will affect orchestra personnel and programming, audience development and donor cultivation. The director will be a vital link to the community, setting the stage for artistic excellence and innovation. The new director will also chart the destiny of the orchestra over the next five to 10 years.
XSyak is executive director of the Youngstown Symphony Society.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.