- Advertisement -
  • Most Commentedmost commented up
  • Most Emailedmost emailed up
  • Popularmost popular up
- Advertisement -

« News Home

EMERGENCY RESPONSE 2 new members join planning committee

Published: Fri, August 5, 2005 @ 12:00 a.m.

The group conducts training exercises and promotes awareness.

WARREN -- Thirty-one representatives of Trumbull County police, fire, health and other fields will serve on a Local Emergency Planning Committee named by county commissioners.

Commissioners this week recommended that the State Emergency Response Commission approve the appointments, or re-appointments, to the committee. It was first set up when commissioners established a Local Emergency Planning District in 1987.

Added to the committee this week were Karen Davies, newly appointed county 911 interim director; and Gary Newbrough, sanitary engineer.

It was Newbrough who suggested someone from his office should be on the committee. "We have the water supply," he noted.

The commissioners suggested adding Davies, named just this week to fill in for ousted 911 director Tim Gladis. Having someone from 911 on the committee is appropriate, they said.

The committee's purpose is training and awareness. Its makeup is established by state statute.

The training exercises the committee conducts are necessary for the county Emergency Management Agency to obtain state funds. Other roles involve inspections of facilities with hazardous materials and environmental issues.


The committee's coordinator is Don Waldron of the Trumbull County Hazardous Materials Management Team.

The committee itself is composed of volunteers who have applied to serve for a two-year term:

UThere are three fire department representatives: Chief Lewis Austin of Champion, Capt. Dennis Lewis of Bazetta and Chief Ken Nussle of Warren.

ULaw enforcement representatives: Sgt. Phillip Eckenrode of the county sheriff's department; Chief Charles Sayers of Bazetta; and Bill Eggens and Richard Wheeler, both from Trumbull Correctional Institution.

UElected official representatives: Commissioner Daniel Polivka and Rebecca Whitman, a Hartford Township trustee and an employee of the county's Emergency Management Agency.

UEmergency management representatives: county EMA director Linda Beil; Lou Cox of the 910th Airlift Wing; Patricia Delgenio of Girard's EMA; and Thomas Telego, Niles disaster coordinator.

UEmergency medical services: Mike Nelson representing ambulance service, Tim Richards of Forum Health and Tim Settles of the Red Cross.

UCommunity groups: Patrick Cline and Ruth Cline, coordinators of the Community Emergency Response Team; and Walton J. Tully, a police chaplain from Newton Falls.

UHealth: Frank Migliozzi, county director of environmental health; Selene Layton, county health department nursing director.

UOthers are: Hospital: Lewis Hutchison of Forum Health; First aid: John Popadak of Action Ambulance; Environmental: Robert Villers, Trumbull-Geauga Solid Waste District director; Transportation: Jack Sullivan of the Youngstown-Warren Regional Airport; Media: Mona Alexander, news director at WFMJ Channel 21; Industry: Gerald King of General Motors; Coroner's office: forensic investigator Kathleen Meszaros; and Haz-Mat: Don Waldron.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.


HomeTerms of UsePrivacy StatementAdvertiseStaff DirectoryHelp
© 2015 Vindy.com. All rights reserved. A service of The Vindicator.
107 Vindicator Square. Youngstown, OH 44503

Phone Main: 330.747.1471 • Interactive Advertising: 330.740.2955 • Classified Advertising: 330.746.6565
Sponsored Links: Vindy Wheels | Vindy Jobs | Vindy Homes