Diocese recognizes 23 teen leaders with the Eagle of the Cross Award

YOUNGSTOWN -- Twenty-three teens have been given the Eagle of the Cross Award for being outstanding Christian leaders.
Each year, the Diocese of Youngstown's Office of Youth and Young Adult Ministry acknowledges a group of extraordinary high school juniors and seniors who exhibit dedication, moral integrity, values and Christian leadership in their schools and parish communities.
Bishop Thomas J. Tobin introduced the award, from the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry, to the diocese in 1999.
This year's recipients, chosen from more than 95 nominations, received their awards at a special liturgy and awards banquet Thursday at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, 343 Via Mount Carmel, Youngstown.
The award winners by category:
Catholic High School: Michelle Novotny, Cardinal Mooney High School; Michael Arthur Ramirez, Cardinal Mooney High; Kara Miller, Central Catholic High; Patrick Arden Tohill, Central Catholic High; Michael Casale, John F. Kennedy High; Mary Hull, John F. Kennedy High; Christopher E. Burr, Saints John and Paul High; Seung Wook Kim, Saints John and Paul High; Amy Elizabeth Vagedes, St. Thomas Aquinas High; Jenna Marie Cintavey, Ursuline High; and Elizabeth Pugh, Ursuline High.
County:Hannah Elizabeth Mikus, Grand Valley High; Luke A. Wadowick, Geneva High; Britney Dermotta, Salem High; Kerri Anne O'Donnell, Salem High; John Daniel Eicher, Canfield High; Courtney R. Zemkosky, Springfield Local High; Christina Lapeus, Aurora High; Jim Wintering, Walsh Jesuit High; Jana Porter, Central Catholic High; Jesse Michael Urban, Perry High; Natalie Beene Bata, Hubbard High; and Brian Christopher Ross, Lakeview High.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.