Masonic district presents awards

STEUBENVILLE -- The 6,912 Freemasons in Carroll, Columbiana, Jefferson and Mahoning counties honored Jane Michael of Waynesburg with their 2005 Community Service Award during a dinner meeting April 23 at The Rose.
Jim S. Deyo, the state's top Masonic officer, presented Michael with her award during his annual visit to the four-county 24th Masonic District.
Michael is a deputy sheriff in Carroll County and is active with the Community Policing Program through the sheriff's office. She also volunteers in numerous activities for students.
The area Freemasons also presented their Excellence in Youth Award to Erica Clemmer of East Palestine, a senior at Columbiana High School and member of the National Honor Society; Alexis Kollay of Boardman, a senior at Boardman High School and member of the Spanish National Honor Society and the National Honor Society; and Eric Small of Boardman, also a senior at Boardman and member of the Poland Presbyterian Youth Group.
The Freemasons are the oldest and largest men's fraternity. There are currently 540 Masonic lodges in Ohio with a combined membership of 125,000. Annually, Ohio Freemasons contribute $15 million to charities that include Ohio Special Olympics, college scholarships and elderly care. General information is available at

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.