CHAMPION SCHOOL BOARD Pupil enrollment rules loosened

Only pupils in grades K-8 will be accepted from other districts.
CHAMPION -- The Champion Board of Education approved open enrollment for the 2005-06 school year.
Only pupils in kindergarten through eighth grade from adjacent school districts will be accepted. Those districts are Southington, Lakeview, Bristol, LaBrae and Maplewood.
There is no open enrollment for grades nine to 12 because schools have no room for any more students in those grades.
Roger Samuelson, board vice president, said the state will give the district $5,300 for each new pupil enrolled.
Officials said that beginning Monday, application packets can be picked up at the elementary or middle school. They should be returned to the superintendent's office by May 10. Applications will be acted upon no later than June 30.
In other business, the board:
U Gave recognition to David Palm, an eighth-grader who won a local spelling bee and will compete in Washington, D.C. in June.
U Announced that three 10th-graders will be taking part in a foreign exchange program through the Rotary Club of Champion. Ellen Countryman will study in Germany, Brianna Heib in Slovakia, and Jennifer Keener in Bolivia for the 2005-06 school year.
U Announced that the winner of the Franklin B. Walter Scholarship for Trumbull County is senior Nicole Okerlund.
U Announced the following events: The Arts Extravaganza will be at 6:30 p.m. today at the high school; the high school choir concert will be April 26 at 7 p.m. in the auditorium; the senior prom will be April 30 at 7 p.m. at McMenamy's in Niles; and commencement will be May 21 at 10 a.m. at W.D. Packard Music Hall in Warren.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.