CAMPUS NOTES In the spotlight

Melisa Kundracik, a graduate of Boardman High School, and Jameson Rehm, a graduate of Ursuline High School, were honored at The College of Wooster's 35th annual Recognition Banquet recently.
Kundracik, a senior biochemistry/molecular biology major, received The Endowed Faculty Scholarship, The Albert Gordon McGaw Memorial Scholarship, The Helen Secrest Scholarship and The Robert E. Wilson Award.
Rehm, a senior philosophy major, received The D. Ivan Dykstra Philosophy Roundtable Book Prize.
The Endowed Faculty Scholarship, initiated in 1970, is supported by contributions from individual members of the faculty. The Albert Gordon McGaw Memorial Scholarship is awarded for general excellence. The Helen Secrest Scholarship is awarded annually to a young woman on the basis of scholarship and potential leadership. The Robert E. Wilson Award is presented to the chemistry major who, at the close of the junior year, has shown the most promise of ability to go forward in chemistry.
The D. Ivan Dykstra Roundtable Book Prize honors Ivan Dykstra's lifelong commitment to the study of philosophy in the context of liberal education. His commitment was manifested both in his long teaching career at Hope College and through his participation in Philosophy Roundtable discussions during his retirement in Wooster.
Robert E. Carlson of Youngstown, a senior at Miami University's Richard T. Farmer School of Business, is the recipient of the Kara Deering PSE leadership Award. The award is given to an individual who consistently exemplifies the highest standard of academics and leadership in the Miami Chapter of marketing honorary society Pi Sigma Epsilon.
Jenna L. Rose, daughter of James and Valerie Rose of Warren, has been named a summer science scholar for 2005 at the college. The science program supports student-faculty research during the summer vacation, for which scholars are chosen in competition among student-faculty proposals. Working with Sheryl Hemkin, assistant professor of chemistry, Rose will conduct a study of the development of a compterized neural network for the evaluation of 5-HT1A radioligands.
A graduate of Champion High School, Rose is a sophomore majoring in biochemistry.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.