ALL-OHIO Schuler named to Div. III first team

Sebring's Greg VanKirk and Bristol's Craig Giesy were first team in Div. IV.
COLUMBUS -- Springfield High senior Dan Schuler made first team Division III all-state on The Associated Press 2002-2003 All-Ohio boys basketball teams released Tuesday.
A 6-foot-5 forward, Schuler averaged 11.3 points a game this year for the Tigers (19-1 in the regular season).
Warren JFK's Keith Black, Crestview's Troy Duwe, Champion's Mark Kish and Springfield's Dave Rispinto made special mention all-state.
Appearing on the honorable mention list are Newton Falls' Jeff Stanley, Lisbon's Lucian Smith, Springfield's Henrik Thomsen, Maplewood's Jeremy Mohorick and Warren JFK's Colin Clemente.
Division IV
In Div. IV, Sebring's Greg VanKirk and Bristol's Craig Giesy earned first-team honors.
VanKirk, a 6-1 senior, averaged 14.7 points while Giesy, a 6-2 senior, carried a 21.2 scoring average.
McDonald's Kevin Stonestreet, a 6-1 senior who scored 18.7 points an outing, received third-team honors.
Three players earned special mention -- Sebring's Dave Scarpitti, Jackson-Milton's Tim Shaw and Southington's Dave Motz.
Earning honorable mention were Sebring's Josh Dean, Southington's Max Slater, McDonald's Nick Testa and Bristol's David Whitt.
Award winners
Two Marcuses -- Marcus McCants of Columbus Wellington and Marcus Butler of Mansfield St. Peter's -- grabbed the top player awards in Div. IV.
They were joined on the small-school first team by: Jordan Pleiman, Fort Loramie (6-8, junior, 17.3 points per game); Wellsville's Jared Mike (6-6, sr., 20.9); Chris Miller of Berlin Hiland (6-0, sr., 16.3); South Webster's Michael Coriell (6-2, sr., 26.3); Chris Dalton of Lorain Catholic (6-5, sr., 21.7); and Elyria Open Door's Tori Davis (6-4, sr., 21.9).
Taking coaching honors in Div. IV was Tiffin Calvert's Tony Mass.
In Div. III, Tyler Renner of Sugarcreek Garaway and David Dees of Dayton Christian shared the player of the year award, based on the recommendations of a state media panel.
The coaches of the year in Div. III were Marion River Valley's Mark Bollinger and Clarksville Clinton-Massie's Brian Mudd.
Rounding out the Div. III first team were: Chris Skaggs of Richmond Dale Southeastern (7-0, sr., 22.5); St. Henry's Todd Boeckman (6-6, sr., 16.1); Greg Badenhop of Liberty Center (6-4, sr., 21.3); Loudvonville's Andy VanHorn (6-2, sr., 12.5); LaGrange Keystone's Brett Bartlett (6-0, jr., 24.0); Marion Pleasant's Kyle Ridge (5-10, sr., 12.6); and Ryan Wilkinson of Clarksville Clinton-Massie (6-1, sr., 15.5).

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.