Vindicator Logo

INSTALLATION Junior League of Youngstown inducts officers

Monday, June 2, 2003

Awards were presented and new members welcomed.
YOUNGSTOWN -- The annual meeting of the Junior League of Youngstown was held May 13 in the Marble Room at Stambaugh Auditorium.
Outgoing president Pam Crowe installed Kathy Orr Scheel as president for the coming year.
Scheel is a component engineer with Delphi Packard Electric Systems. She graduated from Purdue University with a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering and earned her master's in business administration at Case Western Reserve University's Weatherhead School of Management.
An active member of the league, she supervised the construction of Hope House, a project that serves as a visitation center for children in foster care. She also is a member of the board of the Addiction Programs of Mahoning County Inc.
Serving as her associate officers will be Suzyn Schwebel-Epstein, president-elect; Pat Greene, vice president; Shirley Smith, recording secretary; and Laurie Pavelko, treasurer.
Board members
Other board members and their committee assignments are as follows: JoAnn Stock and Jennifer Johnson, marketing and recruitment; Deb Hartig, research and development; Val Zurawick, fund development; JoEllen Kieffer, Amy Williams and Stephanie Blaski, provisional class; Stephanie Hunter, in-league communication; Karen Naffah, training and education; Carolyn Korenic, nominating; Illa Willis, placement; Beth Haddle, Check-it-Out; Jamie Jamison, children's museum; Tee Berlin and Carrie Velasquez, Passport to Prizes; Lynee Aiad-Toss, calendar; Debbie Profanchik and Rae Lackner, fashion show; Sharon Velasquez, cookbook; Debbie Liptak, Angel Ball; Robin Gallitto-Levinsky, Angel Ball representative; Terri Konik, mother-daughter brunch; Gina Chiaro, mother-daughter representative; Bobbie Ann Dunne, Race for the Cure representative; and Janet Gbur, Pink Ribbon Tea representative.
Renee Battafarano will serve as the sustainer representative.
Twenty-four provisionals were welcomed into membership, and Crowe gave a recap of accomplishments of the past year as well as her thanks for the support of the membership.
Special recognition was given to the following: Kieffer, Profanchik and Sharon Velasquez, Great Gusto Award; Stock, Outstanding Volunteer; Missy Scheetz, Unsung Heroine; and Michelle Jones, Volunteer of the Year