NFL HONORS Harrison heads a new-look All-Pro team

The Associated Press NFL All-Pro Team lists 13 first-time choices.
Marvin Harrison was the only unanimous selection to The Associated Press NFL All-Pro Team that featured a new look, with 13 first-time choices, including rookie Jeremy Shockey.
Veteran safety Rod Woodson made the team for the sixth time -- and at the third different position. Three of his Oakland Raiders teammates, quarterback Rich Gannon, the league's MVP, tackle Lincoln Kennedy and center Barret Robbins, were newcomers to the squad, chosen by a nationwide panel of sports writers and broadcaster who cover the NFL.
Also selected Saturday for the fourth straight year was Tampa Bay defensive tackle Warren Sapp.
Harrison, the Indianapolis Colts' record-setting receiver, caught the attention of all 48 voters. He shattered the league mark for receptions this season with 143, 20 more than Herman Moore's previous standard. He had 10 100-yard games and his 1,722 yards were the fourth-highest single season total ever.
Owens selected
Joining Harrison at wide-out was San Francisco's flamboyant Terrell Owens, as opposite in style from Harrison as anyone can be.
As is the energetic Shockey, a first-round pick out of the University of Miami who had a major impact on the New York Giants' offense. Shockey led NFL tight ends and all rookies with 74 receptions and 894 yards receiving and scored twice. He opened up the passing game by being nearly unstoppable over the middle.
Woodson has been the best as a kick-return player in 1989; as a cornerback in 1990, '92, '93 and '94; and now as a safety. He signed with the Raiders as a free agent before the season, then turned in one of the best performances of his 15-year career, including eight interceptions, tied for the league lead.
The Raiders had four All-Pros, as did Miami: RB Ricky Williams, DE Jason Taylor, ILB Zach Thomas and CB Patrick Surtain. Tampa Bay had three, with DE Simeon Rice and OLB Derrick Brooks joining Sapp.
Rest of offense
Completing the offense were Kansas City running back Priest Holmes and guard Will Shields; Pittsburgh guard Alan Faneca; and Baltimore tackle Jon Ogden, making his third All-Pro team.
The other defensive players were Carolina tackle Kris Jenkins, Chicago inside linebacker Brian Urlacher, Pittsburgh outside linebacker Joey Porter, and a pair of Eagles defensive backs: safety Brian Dawkins and cornerback Troy Vincent.
New England's Adam Vinatieri was the placekicker, while Carolina's Todd Sauerbrun was the punter. New Orleans' Michael Lewis was chosen as the kick returner.
Joining Shockey, Gannon, Kennedy and Robbins as first-time All-Pros were Williams, Shields, Vinatieri, Lewis, Rice, Porter, Jenkins, Surtain and Vincent.
Repeaters from the 2001 team were Holmes, Owens, Faneca, Sapp, Urlacher, Dawkins and Sauerbrun.
The AFC had 15 All-Pros and the NFC had 11.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.

AP News