SPEECH WINNERS | State qualifiers

The following speech-team members have qualified to compete at the state tournament in Cincinnati from Feb. 28 to March 1. They were among more than 500 students from the tri-county area who competed at the district tournament staged by the Youngstown District of the National Forensic League in Howland High School.
Original oratory: Sheena Dohar, Youngstown Cardinal Mooney; Abby Terlecki, Ashley Deley, Lisa Briceland, all of Austintown Fitch; Colleen Eltibi, Angelina Zamary, both of Canfield; Ashley Senary, Boardman; Brad Francis, Howland; Lindsay Willett, Columbiana; Calista Conzett, Poland.
Oratorical interpretation: Amber Gallagher, Carrie Minenok, Sarah Joyce, Tiffany Janis, all of Austintown Fitch; Melissa Lee, Namratha Dhillon, Tiffany Gardner, all of Canfield; Bronwyn Salo, Ryan Wonnacott, both of Howland; Kelli Whistler, Laura Mistovich, both of Boardman; Myriah Moorhead, Rachel Rossi, both of Mooney.
Drama: Sara Gedeon, Niles McKinley; Randi Lamb, Dan Oljaca, both of Fitch; Kurt Esenwein, Canfield; Emily Barba, Katherine Savakis, Coleen Casey, all of Howland; Noelle Nackino, Natasha Moletta, Lauren Ragland, all of Boardman; Elyse Healey, Angelo Martinez, Kaitlyn Bernat, all of Mooney.
Prose and poetry: Jillian Giannios, Erin Driscoll, both of Mooney; Justine Wisniewski, Cassie George, Nicole Boye, all of Howland; Amber Kay, Ashley Spires, Laura Mraz, all of Boardman; Maggie Timlin, Poland; Jacqueline Sarah Elias, Elizabeth Delon, Christian Frano, all of Canfield; Amanda McAllen, Youngstown Ursuline; Andy Doyle, Lisbon.
Lincoln-Douglas debate: Tamer Halaweh, Boardman; Brian Brown, Mark Fitzsimmons, Jared Morris, all of Columbiana; Emily Duda, Ursuline; Chris McKee, Girard; Erica Poff, Todd Leverette, both of Warren Harding; John Dickson, Kelly Clontz, both of Niles; Eric Palmer, Lezlie Mallinger, both of Howland; Ryan Kuchmaner, Alexis Gagliardi, Jarid Faubel, all of Canfield.
Duet acting: Jeffrey Kosik and Christopher Kavanaugh, Jacob R. Sullivan and Ashley Leonelli, all of Mooney; Elyse Coulter and Danielle Frabutt, Anthony Roberts and Kristen Nypaver, all of Fitch; Jason Hudak and Diana Santangelo, Ben Boquist and Jen Petrella, all of Boardman; Lena Cavucci and Ryan Livingston, Ursuline; Nathan Beagle and Julie Johnson, Ross Bixler and Casey Merritt, all of Howland; Brittany Dohar and Patrick Burgan, Canfield.
Impromptu: Zack Germaniuk, Warren JFK; Stephanie Gent, Boardman; Katie Critel, Adreann Catalano, both of Mooney; Richard MacAleese, Stacy Shive, both of Lisbon; Samantha Ciarocco, Molly Barnes, both of Poland; Megan Tirabassi, Fitch; Samantha Crum, Kaylene Evans, Tia Norris, all of Canfield.
Duo: Jon Yurco and Evan Hannay, Canfield; Charlotte Gerard and Lloyd Graham, Howland; Rob Cerimele and Andy Allen, Boardman; Sean Philibin and Matthew Hernan, Mike Berlon and Gene O'Dea, all of Mooney; Beatrice Petzinger and Jared Seefried, Poland; Carrie Dellesky and Amanda Williamson, Fitch; Jim Fedor and Brian Peteritis, Niles.
Humor: Kyle Snyder, Lisbon; Dustin Serbin, Niles; Thomas Adams, John Sweeney, both of Poland; Angie Healey, Fitch; Cassie Averell, Howland; Bernie Schmalzried, JFK; Josh Murphy, Evan James, both of Boardman; Seth Coulter, Ursuline.
U.S. Extemporaneous: Amy Reynallt, Fitch; Jason Laufman, Canfield; Tim Kemble, Howland; Mandy Strasik, Natalie Hogan, Amy Holden, all of Boardman; Lindsay Mitchell, Mooney; Megan Souvik, Fitch.
Foreign Extemporaneous: Nicole Mraz, Fitch; Nicole Averell, Sarah Vansuch, both of Howland; Andrea McConnell, Abbey Wood, both of Boardman; Hayah Kassis, Girard; Amanda Pallante, Stephanie Evinsky, both of Niles.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.