Creation of panels targets growth

One commissioners argues that the authority members are not diverse enough.
NEW CASTLE, Pa. -- Lawrence County commissioners created two authorities in an effort to spur economic development.
On Tuesday, they agreed to create the Lawrence County Municipal Authority and the Lawrence County Redevelopment Authority with five members appointed to serve on each entity.
Municipal authority members are John Razzano, Edmund Retort, Jerry Senchak, Jon Natale and Joseph Caminiti.
Redevelopment authority members are Dennis Alduk, Frank Telesz, Pat Aromando, Jon Natale and Joseph Caminiti.
Commissioner Roger DeCarbo said the municipal authority will serve a number of functions, including securing financing for things such as water and sewage project.
The redevelopment authority will have the power to take land by eminent domain for private use in blighted areas of the county.
Commissioner Ed Fosnaught voted against creating the municipal authority, saying he believed its powers were too broad.
He said he would have preferred to create a sewer and water authority, if that is needed. He also voted against appointing the suggested members on both authorities saying they were not diverse.
Fosnaught noted there were no women and none was from the southern end of the county. The addresses of the new members were not available from commissioners.
Commissioner Brian Burick said both authorities were created at the request of the Lawrence County Economic Development Agency.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.