CROSS COUNTRY 13 area teams set for Malone meet

The Canton meet will have 15 races and 2,500 athletes.
CANTON -- Thirteen area schools will be among 93 teams at the 34th Malone College Invitational cross country meet Friday and Saturday.
The event, one of the largest in the country, will have 2,500 athletes competing in 15 races.
On Friday, two college races will take place with the women's run at 5 p.m. and the men at 5:30.
Among the teams entered are Kent State, Ohio, Duquesne, Western Michigan, Robert Morris, California (Pa.), Point Park and Malone.
Kids' runs will get Saturday's races under way at 8:30 a.m. The girls Division III run is scheduled for 9 a.m., followed by the boys Div. III race at 9:30. A boys junior high 2600-meter run is slated for 10.
At 10:30, the high school boys individual and junior varsity runs are scheduled. The girls junior high race is set for 11, followed by the girls individual run at 11:30.
The girls Div. I race is set for 12 p.m., followed by boys Div. I at 12:30, girls Div. II at 1 p.m. and boys Div. II at 1:30.
Boardman, Canfield and Fitch will compete in Div. I. Howland, Hubbard, Poland and Salem are entered in Div. II, while Cardinal Mooney, Columbiana, Leetonia, Lisbon, Southern and United plus Howland girls are entered in Div. III.
Fitch's boys placed ninth last year as veteran Ray Butler (17:25) finished 25th.
Boardman's girls placed 12th as Brittany Durkin (20:25) finished 16th.
The Mooney boys were third, with Erik Moss (17:58) finishing 24th. The Cardinals' girls were fourth with Valerie Zajac (20:35) placing seventh.
Lordstown Invitational
LORDSTOWN -- Eight schools are entered in the Lordstown Invitational Saturday.
Returning to defend crowns are the LaBrae boys and Mineral Ridge girls. Other teams that will participate are Bristol, Brookfield, Jackson-Milton, Lordstown, Warren JFK and Western Reserve.
The Bluejays' Luke McCluggage (16:39) will challenge the meet record, which is 17:28. LaBrae Carrie Hart (21:15) is the defending girls champ.
James Rook, Tom Andriko and Joe DiEugerio of Lordstown, Andy Swango of Bristol, George Parsons of LaBrae, Brian Gilson of Warren JFK and Dennis Simpson of Mineral Ridge will contend.
Alex Wilson and Michelle Buck of Western Reserve, Erin Cross and Carrie Bissell of Mineral Ridge and Jen Armour of Bristol are among the girls competitors.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.