MERCER COUNTY United Way campaign tops $1M in donations

Tim Jablon was named Volunteer of the Year for his efforts.
SHARON, Pa. -- The United Way of Mercer County raised $1,021,947 in its fall 2001 campaign.
A final report at the agency's 27th annual meeting Thursday showed the total was short of its $1.1 million goal, but departing board chairman Chester B. Scholl was pleased with the fund-raising effort.
He said it was still the highest total the United Way has been able to raise in recent years.
Allocations announced
The agency also announced $792,486 in allocations to 24 human service agencies for the 2002-03 fiscal year, which began April 1.
Tim Jablon, president of Wheatland Steel Processing, was named Volunteer of the Year.
Jablon is president of the board of directors of Community Counseling Center of Mercer County, chairman of the United Way's Agency Allocation Panel, vice president of Mercer County Housing Authority's board of directors, and a former district director with the French Creek Council of the Boy Scouts of America.
He's also a member of the Rotary Club and is a Rotary Reader who visits Sharon elementary schools to read to children.
Jablon is a past recipient of the Pennsylvania Power Co.'s Neighborhood Hero Award.
"I thank you all who have let me serve," Jablon said in accepting the honor, urging those present to volunteer wherever and whenever they can.
"You will get back a lot more than you put into it," he said.
Award recipients
The Wheatland Tube Co. and its employees were named recipients of this year's Henry G. Evans Award, named after the late Sharon Steel Corp. officer who was noted for his efforts on behalf of the United Way.
Wheatland Tube and its employees have been unwavering in their commitment to the United Way, Scholl said, calling their efforts a role model for other companies.
Wheatland Tube and its employees contributed $62,500 to the United Way in the fall campaign, their highest total ever, he said.
During the meeting's business portion, Atty. Mark Longietti was elected chairman of the UW board and Bill Perrine, president of Sharon Tube Co., was elected vice chairman.
James Feeney, retired senior vice president of operations at Wheatland Tube Co., was named chairman of the 2002 fall campaign.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.