Michael Shaffer installed as Rotary club president

LIBERTY TOWNSHIP -- Michael F. Shaffer was installed as president of the Rotary Club of Youngstown during a dinner meeting July 3 at Youngstown Country Club.
He is central branch director of the YMCA.
Other officers installed were Scott R. Schulick, president-elect; Elayne M.S. Klovis, vice president; Eric J. Caspary, secretary; and James Dascenzo, treasurer.
Shaffer succeeds Deborah A. Esbenshade, who was honored for her accomplishments. In her presidency the club added 17 new members, started new community-service projects and education programs at Harding School, began the Rotary Runway Run at Youngstown-Warren Regional Airport and sponsored a Rotary Foundation scholar.
The Rotary Club of Youngstown was the 137th club in Rotary International when it was founded in 1915. Today there are 30,149 clubs in 163 countries. The club is making plans to mark the 100th anniversary of Rotary International in 2005.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.