ON TRACK This week's events

Pepsi 400
Schedule: Saturday, race (Fox, 7:30 p.m.).
Track: Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, Fla. (tri-oval, 2.5 miles, 31 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.
Last race: Ricky Rudd picked up his first victory of the season by winning the Dodge/Save Mart 350 in Sonoma, Calif. Jerry Nadeau appeared to have the victory with two laps to go, but rear-end gear failure ended his day. Jeff Gordon led for 30 laps, but also encountered rear-end gear failure and finished 37th, extending his winless streak to 24 races.
Last year: Dale Earnhardt Jr. drove to an emotional victory in the Pepsi 400, where his father was killed the previous February. Pushed back to seventh place after a late caution flag, Earnhardt regained the lead with 4 1/2 laps remaining. A few laps later, teammate Michael Waltrip overtook Bobby Labonte for second place.
Next race: Tropicana 400, July 14, Cicero, Ill.
On the net: www.nascar.com
GNC Live Well/Stacker2 250
Schedule: Today, race (FX, 8 p.m.).
Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles, 31 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 250 miles, 100 laps.
Last race: Greg Biffle became the repeat winner at Milwaukee by taking the GNC Live Well 250. It was Biffle's second victory of the season and seventh in 50 career Busch starts.
Last year: Inaugural race
Next race: Hills Brothers Coffee 300, July 13, Cicero, Ill.
O'Reilly Auto Parts 250
Schedule: Today, qualifying, 4 p.m.; Saturday, race (ESPN, 1 p.m.).
Track: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. (tri-oval, 1.5 miles, 15 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 250.5 miles, 167 laps.
Last race: Terry Cook overcame a slow pit stop and passed Jason Leffler with two laps remaining to win the GNC Live Well 200 at The Milwaukee Mile. The third caution of the race extended the 200-lap, 200-mile event for three laps -- the last two under green.
Last year: Ricky Hendrick became the youngest driver to win a truck series race, leading the final 32 laps to take the inaugural O'Reilly Auto Parts 250. At 21 years, 3 months, 5 days, Hendrick is more than seven months younger than Kurt Busch was when he won on July 1, 2000, at The Milwaukee Mile.
Next race: Kroger 225, July 13, Sparta, Ky.
Molson Indy
Schedule: Today, qualifying, (Speed Channel, 2 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Speed Channel, 1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (CBS, 1:30 p.m.).
Track: Toronto street circuit (temporary road course, 1.755 miles, 13 turns).
Race distance: 166.725 miles, 95 laps.
Last race: Cristiano da Matta recorded his third straight CART victory by winning in Chicago. With the win, da Matta became the first three-peat winner in CART since Juan Montoya accomplished the feat in 1999. Da Matta's victory also extended his lead in the points standings to 25 over Bruno Junquiera.
Last year: Michael Andretti, shuffled to last place on the first lap of the Molson Indy, took advantage of 11 cautions and won the Toronto race for the seventh time in its 16-year history. With his 41st career victory, Andretti broke a record he shared with Al Unser Jr. for most wins in one event. Unser won six times in Long Beach, Calif.
Next race: Marconi Grand Prix, July 14, Cleveland.
On the net: www.cart.com
British Grand Prix
Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (Speed Channel, 8 a.m.); Sunday, race (Speed Channel, 7:30 a.m.).
Track: Silverstone (England) Circuit (road course, 3.196 miles, 14 turns).
Race distance: 191.76 miles, 60 laps.
Last race: Rubens Barrichello recorded his second career win at the European Grand Prix in Germany, finishing .20 seconds ahead of Michael Schumacher on June 23. Juan Pablo Montoya started from the pole for the third straight race, but did not finish after colliding with David Coulthard on lap 27.
Last year: Mika Hakkinen defeated series leader Michael Schumacher to get his 19th career victory, first this year and first ever in the British Grand Prix. Schumacher was denied his 51st career victory, which would have tied him with Alain Prost for the most in Formula One history.
Next race: French Grand Prix, July 21, Magny-Cours.
On the net: www.formula1.com
Ameristar Casino Indy 200
Schedule: Saturday, qualifying, 4:30 p.m.; Sunday, race (ABC, 1 p.m.).
Track: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City, Kan. (tri-oval 1.5 miles, 15 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.
Last race: Sam Hornish Jr. passed Gil de Ferran with two laps left to win the SunTrust Indy Challenge at Richmond, his third victory of the season. Hornish also recorded his sixth career IRL victory, moving him to third on the all-time list behind Buddy Lazier (eight) and Scott Sharp (seven).
Last year: Eddie Cheever Jr. passed Hornish with slightly more than two laps to go, earning his first IRL victory of the season in the inaugural Ameristar Casino Indy 200.
Next race: Firestone Indy 200, July 20, Gladeville, Tenn.
On the net: www.indyracingleague.com
-- Associated Press

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.