RECOGNITION DINNER Uptown Kiwanis Club presents awards at ball

D.D. Davis and Karla Krickich were among award recipients.
YOUNGSTOWN -- The Kiwanis Club of Uptown Youngstown held its past presidents' ball and recognition dinner Dec. 20 at the D.D. and Velma Davis Education and Visitor Center in Mill Creek Park.
D.D. Davis was named Outstanding Kiwanian of the Year and received the George Hixson Award, the highest honor bestowed by the club. Presenters were past award recipients Bert Toth, Chuck Zidian, Altemus and Robert Neapolitan. Davis, a local businessman, is a charter member of the club and a past president.
Karla Krickich received a past president's pin and plaque. She was the first woman to serve as president of the group in its 53-year history. She introduced a new event for the club during her tenure, a youth concert.
More awards: Distinguished Service Awards were presented by Lt. Gov. Wally Sinn to Neapolitan, distinguished president, and Paul Rushen, distinguished secretary.
Four members receiving the Legion of Honor pin for more than 25 years of service to Kiwanis were Tom Burgess and Leland Clegg, each with 55 years of service, Altemus with 30 and Gerald Carter, 25.
Members Dave Stauffer, John Swierz, Bob Fish and Neapolitan were honored for their contributions and service as board members to the Greater Youngstown Area Soapbox Derby, an event co-founded by the Uptown Kiwanis.
Sinn presented Chuck Zidian with the Helping Hands Award for four years of service on the division level in the Iodine Deficiency Disorder project.
Joe Chiovetti and Krickich received special recognition certificates for their work on the youth concert series, and Fish was honored for his work in starting community information meetings presented by the club.
Perfect attendance tabs were presented to Altemus, Wayne Christner, Neapolitan and Bert Toth, three years; Krickich, Phil Mingo, Stauffer, Swierz and Jack Velker, two years; and Caroline Goldsboro, one year.
Officer pins went to Neapolitan, secretary; Stauffer, treasurer; Mingo, president-elect; Fish, president; and Krickich, past president. Joe Chivetti, Christner, Fish, Mingo, Papa, Swierz and Toth were noted as board members.
The program: Buzz Altemus and Bob Papa served as emcees. Velker offered the invocation and Clegg, the benediction. Storyteller Regina Rees presented the program.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.