NEW CASTLE Officials OK archive center

Commissioners named members to several boards and commissions.
NEW CASTLE, Pa. -- Lawrence County will soon have an archive center for all of its public records.
County commissioners approved the center Tuesday, but no date has been set for its opening. All public documents will eventually be available on microfilm in the county warehouse, located next to the county jail on Milton Street.
Commissioner Brian Burick said there is no major structural work planned for the center, but it might be painted before it is opened.
A clerk has been microfilming county documents for the last nine months in preparation for the archive center, and will likely continue after it is opened, officials said.
Loan: In other business, commissioners authorized a $4.5 million tax anticipation note from Dolphin and Bradbury Bank of Philadelphia. The short-term loan is needed to cover the county debt until tax dollars start coming in.
Charleen Micco, county chief clerk and administrator, said the county is borrowing the money with a 2.38 percent interest rate and was given a $16,605 premium, which it will not have to repay. She could not explain why the premium was offered by the lender. She said not all of the banks from which the county sought proposals for tax anticipation notes offered this type of premium.
Commissioners also appointed and reappointed people to a number of different commissions and authorities. They are:
* Linda Nitch, Everett Bleakney, Helen Jackson, Sidney Shenkan, John Orlando, Rob Heath and Tim Fulkerson were appointed to the Northwest Pennsylvania Regional Planning and Development Commission for two year terms each.
* Jim Haas and Frank Telesz Jr. were reappointed to the Lawrence County Planning Commission. Dean Kind was appointed to the commission. Each will serve four year terms. Wendell Wagner, a commission member since 1966, was not reappointed by county commissioners.
* Robert Heath was appointed to a five-year term in the Lawrence County Housing Authority.
* Dr. Mohammad Ali, James Direnzo, Donna Kelly, Olga Nared and Henry Karki were reappointed to the Mental Health Mental Retardation Advisory Board for three year terms.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.