HORIZON BASKETBALL YSU's Perugini top newcomer

Jen Perugini led the Horizon League in rebounding.
INDIANAPOLIS -- With Youngstown State entering its first year in the Horizon League, it was only fitting that forward Jen Perugini would earn League Newcomer of the Year honors. Perugini finished the regular season ranked first in rebounding (9.1).
Butler guard Maria Marchesano, Loyola guard Ciara Henderson, Wisconsin-Milwaukee guard Malika Willoughby and Wright State guard Tiffany Webb joined Perugini on the All-Newcomer Team.
Wisconsin-Milwaukee center Maria Viall highlights the All-Horizon League Team as the first Panther since 1997 to earn Player of the Year honors. Viall leads the league in field goal percentage (.577) and blocked shots (1.59) and ranked second in scoring (16.8) and tied for fourth in rebounding (6.9).
Detroit guard Michelle James and Wisconsin-Green Bay forward Mandy Stowe joined Viall on the first team. Both are the only returning first team selections from a year ago. James was the league leader in assists (5.52) and steals (3.37). Stowe ranked third in scoring (15.8) and fourth in field goal percentage (.526, 185-352).
Cleveland State guard Erika Roudebush and Detroit forward Randee Henry rounded out the first team. Both were among the league's leading scorers. Roudebush, who was also the league leader in 3-point field goals made (2.41), boasted the Horizon League's top scoring average (18.3) while Henry was fifth (15.0).
Wisconsin-Green Bay's Kevin Borseth earned coach of the year honors for the third time in four years after leading the Phoenix to its fourth consecutive league regular season title.
Men's: A mixture of old and new players highlighted the Horizon League's men's basketball post-season awards.
Seven players made their second appearance among the all-league, all-newcomer and all-defensive teams.
Butler forward Rylan Hainje highlighted the all-league team as the first Bulldog since 1997 to earn player of the year honors. Hainje ranked among the league leaders in steals (4th, 1.66), field goal percentage (6th, .497), 3-point field goal percentage (6th, .423), scoring (7th, 15.2) and rebounding (8th, 5.9).
The team also featured three returning members from last year's team. Butler guard Thomas Jackson and Loyola guard David Bailey were first team honorees a year ago. Jackson was the league leader in steals (2.28) and assists/turnover ratio (2.68). Bailey led the league in scoring (21.7) and ranked third in steals (1.89) and fourth in assists (4.56). Wisconsin-Milwaukee forward Clay Tucker made the jump from last year's second team after finishing the regular season among the league's top five in scoring (2nd, 17.7), steals (2nd, 2.25) and rebounding (5th, 6.2).
Detroit guard Greg Grays completed the first team. Grays was second in the league in 3-point field goals made (2.96), third in scoring (17.3) and sixth in free throw percentage (.835, 71-85)
Wisconsin-Milwaukee's Bruce Pearl was named coach of the year.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.