SEBRING 8 council candidates remain after election

Two candidates were eliminated.
SEBRING -- Eight candidates remain in the race for four at-large council seats after Tuesday's nonpartisan primary runoff election.
The two lowest vote-getters among the 10 candidates have been eliminated.
A total of 727 people voted, not counting six walk-in votes that will be tallied later, but the walk-ins aren't likely to affect the election's outcome, said Mark Munroe, chairman of the Mahoning County Board of Elections.
Voters were instructed to vote for no more than four candidates.
According to unofficial totals, the candidates who will appear on the Nov. 6 ballot, and the number of votes cast Tuesday for each were:
James Joseph Harp, 420; Terry L. Frasher, 404; Andrew A. Safkow, 265; Joseph A. Amabeli, 261; Charles R. Mercer, 237; Mark R. Burns, 207; Dawn M. Posity, 192; Douglas J. Cook, 189.
Amabeli and Posity are incumbents.
Eliminated were Michael Seidel, an incumbent who got 177 votes and Patricia Thompson, who got 163 votes.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.