Ohio hall of fame to induct veterans

Honorees are selected based on honorable military service and service to community, state and nation.
COLUMBUS -- Twenty men and women will be inducted into the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame's 10th class by Gov. Bob Taft in a ceremony at 11 a.m. Thursday at the Veterans Memorial.
Honorees are nominated by Ohio citizens and selected by an 11-member committee of the veterans' peers, based on honorable military service and service to their communities, state and nation through volunteer or philanthropic service.
Included in this year's class are two peace time veterans and three astronaut, as well as men and women who served in the Civil War, Spanish-American War, World War II, and the Korean and Vietnam wars.
Nominees are:
URaymond J. Albert, Fairfield County, Navy, WWII.
UMerle F. Brady, Van Wert County, Army, WWII.
URoeliff Brinkerhoff, Richland County, Army, Civil War.
UFlorence Fawley, Franklin County, Marine Corps, WWII.
UAlmond Fisher, Lake County, Army, WWII Congressional Medal of Honor.
UMichael Foreman, Franklin County, Navy, astronaut.
UMary O. Glover, Licking County, Women's Army Corps, WWII.
UWilliam Keller, Cuyahoga County, Army, Spanish-American War, Congressional Medal of Honor.
USimon Kenton, Logan County, Army, pre-statehood.
UWalter H. Kyle, Franklin County, Army Air Corps, WWII and the Korean War.
UNorman H. Lambert, Franklin County, Army, Vietnam.
UJohn H. McConnell, Delaware County, Navy, WWII.
UDonald E. Nielsen, Summit County, Coast Guard, Vietnam War.
UJoel Parsons, Franklin County, Army, Civil War, Congressional Medal of Honor.
UWilliam Pitsenbarger, Miami County, Air Force, Vietnam, Congressional Medal of Honor.
UCharles Schorn, Meigs County, Army, Civil War, Congressional Medal of Honor.
UKathryn D. Sullivan Sr., Franklin County, Navy, astronaut.
ULance A. Talmage Sr., Lucas County, Army Reserve and National Guard.
USunita L. Williams, Cuyahoga County, Navy, astronaut.
UFrank J. Yankovic, Cuyahoga County, Army, WWII.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.