League elects YSU professor president

YOUNGSTOWN -- The League of Women Voters of Greater Youngstown recently elected Anne York of Boardman, a Youngstown State University associate professor of history, to a two-year term as its president.
Members also elected Maxine Houck of Youngstown first vice president, Susan Savastuk of Youngstown, secretary, and Lynn Doyle of Canfield, Kathleen W. Johnson of Liberty and Anne Speck of Poland, directors of the board.
Also, Betty Beelen of Canfield, Glorianne Leck of Youngstown and Dorothy Snovak of Poland were elected to the league's nominating committee, which will prepare next year's slate of officers.
Board members re-elected to two-year terms are Mary B. Smith of Youngstown, second vice president, Jane Beilby of Poland, treasurer, and Tamica Green of Youngstown, V. Ann Harpman of Boardman and Virginia Morgan of Poland, board directors.
In other league news, Toni Schildcrout of Youngstown was honored as one of 27 state winners of the organization's Distinguished Leadership Award. She has served as president of the local league and a member for almost 30 years.

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.