AWARDS St. Stanislaus CWV post recognizes students' work

The 46th annual event honored art and essay winners.
YOUNGSTOWN -- Art and essay contest winners of area parochial schools were recognized May 20 at the 45th annual awards breakfast sponsored by St. Stanislaus Post 1222 of the Catholic War Veterans.
Winners: James Mislay, third vice commander who coordinated the contests, presented top art awards to Joel Amendolara, Nico Mancuso and Ursula Buzzacco, all of St. Christine. Honorable mention went to Marisa Laguardia, Holy Family; Joey Stazak, St. Charles; Philip Metzinger, Amanda Accadia Rivera and Nick Fedoruk, all of St. Christine; and Matthew Nypaver, Immaculate Heart of Mary.
Top essay winners were Jason Jones and Elizabeth Pugh, both of Immaculate Heart of Mary, and Colleen Casey, St. Joseph. Honorable mention went to Scott Cleckner and Maggie Matune, both of Immaculate Heart of Mary; Marita Owens and Tamara Lesnoski, both of St. Luke; and Joshua Tedesco, Byzantine Catholic Central.
Jones, Pugh and Casey also won awards from the Ohio CWV, and Jones also placed first in the nation for his essay. He received a prize from the national CWV, and his school received a plaque.
Cardinal Mooney High School students Matthew Bartolec, Melissa Danus and Andrea Fryda received scholarship awards from the Bernard Lakovich Scholarship Fund.
Also honored: Deborah Verbosky, auxiliary president, congratulated students and presented awards to parish high school graduates Katie Danus, Michael Radomsky and David Pavlich. Pavlich also received the Youth Christian Award.
Deacon Michael Schlais of Cardinal Mooney judged the essays, and Professor Joseph Babich of Youngstown State University judged the art work.
Dennis Wilde, past post commander, was master of ceremonies. The Rev. Edward Neroda also participated. The auxiliary catered the breakfast.

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.