Astro Falcons take 2-0 lead in Class B League title series

STRUTHERS -- Justin Herstich fired a three-hit shutout as the Astro Falcons grabbed a two-game lead in the best-of-5 Class B League championship series Sunday with an 8-0 triumph over Youngstown Express at Cene Park.
The Falcons broke a scoreless tie with a five-run fourth inning, ignited by walks to Garrett Cravener and Chad Wagler. Consecutive singles by Pat Watt, A.J. Stedford, Ryan Cummins and Herstich put the Falcons ahead.
Astro added three more runs in the sixth inning on two walks, an error, a sacrifice and singles by Cravener and Wagler.
Kevin Libeg took the loss, surrendering five runs over five innings.
The Falcons go for the title tonight at 7 at Cene Park.
Class AA: YOUNGSTOWN -- Rob Tamburro tripled home two runs in a six-run fifth inning rally as Giachetta's/Tamburros defeated Youngstown Metros, 6-1.
Chris Steinbird fired a one-hitter to get the win.
Rick Gozur produced Metros' hit. Joe Vardon suffered the loss on the mound.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.